Calabria trekking information


38° 39' 4.3128" N, 16° 12' 56.952" E

Calabria is a narrow peninsula extending into the Mediterranean for three hundred kilometres. It is located at the toe of the "boot" between the Tyrrhenian Sea to the west and the Ionian Sea and Gulf of Taranto to the east. The regional capital is the city of Catanzaro. The other main metropolitan areas are those of Reggio Calabria and Cosenza. It is separated from Sicily by the Strait of Messina. Although the sea seems ever present in Calabria, it is mainly a mountainous region. Three mountain ranges are present: Pollino, the Sila, and Aspromonte. All three mountain ranges are unique with their own flora and fauna.

Javascript is required to view this map.
Syndicate content
Calabria |