Sichuan is located in western China and Chengdu is the capital of Sichuan. Sichuan lies in the Sichuan basin and it is also surrounded by the Himalayas to the west side. Sichuan is historically known as the “Province of Abundance” and it is one of the major agricultural production bases of China.

Sichuan has few sites which is listed in UNESCO World Heritage Sites and they are-

1. Dazu Rock Carvings - Dating back from 7th century, The Dazu Rock Carvings are a series of Chinese religious sculpture and carvings which is located on the steep hillsides. It consist of 75 protected sites with 50,000 statues of 100,000 Chinese characters forming inscriptions and epigraphs.

2. Huanglong – It is the most scenic and historic area in Songpan County which is very well known for its colorful pools formed by calcite deposits, snow capped peaks, waterfalls and hotsprings.

3. Jiuzhaigou Valley – is also known as Valley of Nine Villages which is a nature reserve in northen Sichuan. Jiuzhaigou Valley is worldwide famous for its multilevel waterfalls and colorful lakes.

4. Leshan Giant Buddha – was built during the Tang Dynasty which was carved out of a cliff face which lies at the confluence of the Minjiang, Dadu and Qingyi rivers in the southern part of Sichuan.

5. Mount Emei – is a mountain which is one of the four sacred Buddhist Mountains of China. The large area is geologically known as Permian Emeishan Large Igneous Province. It is said that the first Buddhist temple which was built in China in the 1st century CE was built here in Mount Emei.

6. Mount Qingcheng – has 36 peaks and according to Daoism mythology, this was the site of the Yellow Emperor’s studies with Ning Fengzhi.

7. Dujiangyan Irrigation System – is located in the Min River and it is an irrigation infra-structure built in 256 BC during the Warring States Period of China. It is still in use.

8. Sichuan Giant Panda Sanctuaries – is a home of more than 30% of the world’s highly endangered Giant Pandas and important sites for the breeding of these pandas. It consists of 7 nature reserves and 9 scenic parks.

Sichuan |